Bad Kitty 

When your oldest, rattiest, sickest, ugliest cat dies and you have (had) five cats the following happens:
David, the husband- MIA as he is almost every single day that is golf worthy. I’m Wonder Woman and I deal with this. I sent him a text. He shows up four hours later and asks if he needs to dig the grave to which I responded like I always do, “I took care of it.”

Me-She lived a good cat life. She didn’t have to hunt for her food. She was warm in the winter. (And secretly I’m like, yay! She was the one most likely to hide in the closet and take a dump)

Drew, the 12 year old- THE WORLD HAS ENDED. SOB UNCONTROLLABLY FOR HOURS. CANT FOCUS ON ANIMAL JAM. GO THROUGH A BOX OF TISSUES. GRAB THE CLOSEST CAT AND HOLD IT AND WIPE NOSE ON SAID CAT. 


Story, the five year old- Sob. Sit by the grave (that I dug) and weep. Then gather all sorts of things “that was bad kitty’s favorite” and place on the grave. (Pretty sure Story wouldn’t have been this upset if Drew hadn’t screamed and sobbed for the afternoon). Later Story won’t go outside because I told her, “Bad Kitty is gone to kitty heaven now and she’s not old there. She’s a kitten again. She’s not sick anymore.”  Her argument is valid, “I SAW YOU COVER HER UP WITH DIRT! She’s in the ground and cats can dig and she can get out!”  Now she insists that Bad Kitty will come back to life and kill us all for putting dirt on her fur. On this note I’m wondering which sibling has allowed her to watch zombie movies. 

Lennon, the 13 year old- was in the bathroom for the entire event. When he emerged, book and DSXL in hand, and asked who punched Drew on the face because, “she looks awful” she responded by yelling, “I HOPE YOU ARE HAPPY. YOU WERE SO MEAN TO HER BECAUSE SHE WAS OLD AND SMELLED BAD!” And on that note I’m fairly sure Lennon is gonna be single for his entire life because I heard him mutter, “Girls are so weird” as he walked away. 

RIP Bad Kitty. You were a rule breaker (see below pic of her technically not on the dining room table) and you were frail and old and you did smell bad. You were also loved by a little girl who will miss you very much. 

Leave a Reply

